Evercreech Junction Station
Photo by Jeffery Grayer (July 1967). © All rights reserved.
Originally opened as Evercreech on 3 February 1862, the station was renamed Evercreech Junction with the opening of the Bath Extension on 20 July 1874 when Evercreech gained a second station at Evercreech New. This was the junction for the Burnham branch, which was the original main line before 1874. Always a busy station there were many sidings, a middle road in the station area itself for banking engines, a turntable and two large signal-boxes. The station closed for freight on 29 November 1965 and completely on 7 March 1966.
The main station buildings survive in private ownership.
Although the New S&D will be primarily a serious working railway with little room for sentiment, Evercreech Junction is so iconic that it would be a crime not to rebuild the site as closely as possible to the original. This may well become the site of the New S&D Steam Centre, which will form a service and viewing centre and base for visiting steam locomotives running specials over the route.